Daily Archives: July 11, 2007

Waiting

Waiting in 505.What is harder than waiting? I don’t know. I have had to wait on many things in life, like answers to life’s hard questions, the will of God, and nearly everything important. Today I am sitting in a hospital room waiting for test results and the doctor to come by and tell me what they want to do next. I don’t wait well. Just ask my wife. But in the Bible “waiting” is at times synonymous with “faith”. I am once again in one of those life situations where I am required to wait. Not only wait on hospital tests, medications and diagnosis, but to wait, and trust the Lord. The Psalmist said, “Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.” Spurgeon said of waiting that “it is the posture of faith. Here is the gracious soul hanging in faith upon God in Christ Jesus; upon the veracity of God to fulfil his promise, upon the power of God to help him in difficulty, upon the wisdom of God to counsel him in perplexity, upon the love of God to shield him in danger, upon the omniscience of God to guide him with his eye, and upon the omnipresence of God to cheer him with his presence, at all times and in all places, his sun and shield. Oh, have faith in God.” So, I wait. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized